NEWS: Disney Nominates 12 Directors for Election, “Does Not Endorse” Nelson Peltz and Former Disney CFO Nominations

By admin Jan 17, 2024

As Disney prepares for the 2024 Annual Meeting of Shareholders, the company has announced its nominations for the 12 seats on the Board of Directors.

©Disney | Walt Disney Company Headquarters

In the same announcement, Disney confirmed that the company does NOT endorse the nominations of Nelson Peltz and former Disney CFO Jay Rasulo.

Here is the list of 12 nominees that the Disney Board of Directors recommends for election at the 2024 Annual Meeting of Shareholders:

  • Mary T. Barra — Chair and Chief Executive Officer of General Motors Co.
  • Safra A. Catz — Chief Executive Officer of Oracle Corp. and its former President
  • Amy L. Chang — former senior executive at Cisco Systems, Inc. and Google and a current director of Procter & Gamble Co.
  • D. Jeremy Darroch — former Executive Chairman and Group Chief Executive Officer of Sky
  • Carolyn N. Everson — former senior executive at Instacart, Meta Platforms, Inc. and Microsoft Corp. and a current director of The Coca-Cola Co. and Under Armour Inc.
  • Michael B.G. Froman — President of the Council on Foreign Relations and former Vice Chairman and President, Strategic Growth at Mastercard Inc.
  • James P. Gorman — Executive Chairman and former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Morgan Stanley
  • Robert A. Iger — Disney’s Chief Executive Officer, formerly also served as Chairman
  • Maria Elena Lagomasino — Chief Executive Officer and Managing Partner of WE Family Offices and a former senior executive at JP Morgan Private Bank and Chase Manhattan Bank and a current director of The Coca-Cola Co.
  • Calvin R. McDonald — Chief Executive Officer of lululemon athletica inc.
  • Mark G. Parker — serves as Chairman of the Disney Board, is Executive Chairman of NIKE, Inc. and its former Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Derica W. Rice. — former senior executive at CVS Health Corp. and Eli Lilly and Co. and a current director of The Carlyle Group Inc., Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., and Target Corp.

Disney said, “The director candidates possess significant expertise in implementing strategic priorities while growing shareholder value across a spectrum of varied businesses, and have the skill sets, experiences and professional backgrounds representing a diversity of perspectives and characteristics that are particularly relevant to Disney’s business and strategic objectives.”


According to Disney’s announcement, “The average tenure of the current Board is six years, with seven out of twelve serving less than six years, and the Board is led by an independent chairman.”

Walt Disney Company Headquarters ©LA Times

Disney specified that “the Board does NOT endorse the nominations of Nelson Peltz and James Rasulo put forth by Trian Fund Management, L.P. and its affiliates, led by Nelson Peltz and supported by former Disney executive Isaac Perlmutter (collectively, the “Trian Group”).” The notice went on to say, “The Board recommends that shareholders do not vote for the Trian Group nominees, and that they reject a related proposal from the Trian Group to amend the Company Bylaws.”

©Getty Images

Jay Rasulo served as Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of The Walt Disney Company from 2010 to 2015. Trian stated that Bob Iger once called him “a vital contributor to Disney’s success” with “strategic acumen and savvy insight.”

Disney’s Board also “does not endorse the nominations of Craig Hatkoff, Jessica Schell and Leah Solivan put forth for election as directors by Blackwells Onshore I LLC, Blackwells Capital LLC and Jason Aintabi (collectively, the “Blackwells Group”).”

Stay tuned to DFB for more updates on the latest Disney news.

Disney CEO Bob Iger’s 2023 Salary REVEALED

By admin

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *